Lets Go Everywhere


I survived cholera epidemic 2007

I feel on top of the world these days, and it’s not just because I’m leaving Vietnam in less than a month. No, it’s the fact that I managed to avoid contracting cholera despite the widespread epidemic that plagued Hanoi.

Yes, cholera. The medieval explosive diarrhea disease. Only a few news agencies were brave enough to tackle the issue, and lord knows the state media took its sweet time in even admitting there was a problem.

Reuters Article vs state media

Either way, I’m glad I avoided it (so far). I took great pains to stay as far away from dog meat, rancid shrimp paste, pork log and market veggies as I could.

I am, however, deeply saddened to have to routinely bypass my favourite ‘mien ngan’ stand on Han Thuyen Street because the woman refuses to wear plastic gloves. I mean really, they’re free!

Cholera bacterium 2

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I recently read in Bloomberg News about presence of approximately 1300 or more cases of cholera in Vietnam spreading in 22 cities. Why isn’t this worldwide news. Aren’t people heartless not to warn people who could die of cholera? Could it at least be suggested for visitors to get cholera vaccine – any required time before arriving in Vietnam???

Comment by Bing

[…] Image: Let’s Go Everywhere […]

Pingback by Climate Change Increases Cholera in Africa | FollowGreen.com

I absolutely agree. There has probably been over 5 million deaths due to cholera since 1816 when the first epidemic started.

Comment by Akpo56

[…] Image: Let’s Go Everywhere […]

Pingback by Climate Change Increases Cholera in Africa : EcoSalon | Conscious Culture and Fashion

cheap flights yvr to phx

I survived cholera epidemic 2007 | Lets Go Everywhere

Trackback by cheap flights yvr to phx




Leave a Reply

